Frank Yapps Scholarship

Frank A. Yapps
Founder Harford Gymnastics (1979)
September 23, 1944 - April 1, 2004

"A golden heart stopped beating,
Hard working hands to rest,
God broke our hearts to prove to us,
He only takes the best"

A Gymnastics Memorial Scholarship has been established to honor the spirit and memories of the devoted gymnastics professional, Frank A Yapps, Jr.  He devoted his life to helping individuals create a solid foundation on which to grow through their involvement in the sport of gymnastics.  He founded Harford Gymnastics in 1979.

To continue his legacy, we offer a scholarship in his honor.  Beginning in 2019, the scholarship switched from a $1,000 college assistance scholarship to a competition team financial hardship scholarship.  It is available to competition team members of Harford Gymnastics who demonstrates the benefits and character development that gymnastics has to offer and whose family is facing financial hardships. 

Applications:  Request for consideration must be sent to including the following information:

  • Name & Level of Gymnast
  • Number of years you have been on team at Harford Gymnastics
  • Explain the financial hardship (death of a parent, severe illness of a parent, loss of job of a parent, etc)
  • Please include a paragraph about why you want to be considered for this financial hardship scholarship
  • Gymnast must send in a paragraph about what being on the team at Harford Gymnastics means to them

Scholarship Recipients

Recipient Year College
Morgan Motsay 2019 Loyola University
Nia Hammett 2018 North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
Abigail Olah 2017 Temple University
Meghan Manno 2016 Salisbury University
Lindsay Rush 2015 Ursinus College
Ciana Campo & Michaela Soper 2014 U of South Carolina & Gannon University
Erin Swam 2013 University of Maryland
Sarah Bach 2012 University of Maryland Baltimore County
Emily Walstrum 2011 Salisbury University
Brooke Hyman 2010 University of Maryland
Kathleen Roberson 2009 Towson University
Ashleigh Jo Hyman 2008 University of Maryland
Sara Miller 2007 Towson University
Ashley LeVine 2006 University of Maryland
Stacey Pokrywka 2005 Salisbury University/ University of MD Baltimore